Santa Clarita Diet, dir. Victor Fresco, 2017

I had my doubts from the image displayed and the brief description as to what this series would be like, especially as one of its leading characters is played by Drew Barrymore. I’m pleased to say I was pleasantly surprised! This Netflix orginal was in fact rather funny. It’s been a while since I’ve laughed out loud at a series but this one combined the crude and ridiculous to create something quite comedic. I enjoyed the fact that the whole family was involved which lead to this being a good easy watch, with each episode only being being between 25-30 minutes long.

The series is set in a suburban neighbourhood and we follow the Hammond family as they attempt to adjust to a ‘new change’ in their ordinary, Realtor lives. The storyline is a little unoriginal but through the use of sarcastic comedy it gives it that edge. There are elements that are reminiscent of other crime/undead series which have clearly been an influence but to keep from ruining the storyline I won’t mention specifics. 

