Image result for dirty dancing film
Dirty Dancing, dir. Emile Ardolino, 1987

I recognise that this is not a new film. But, this year celebrates the 30th Anniversary of its release, and to celebrate my love for this film I dragged my husband to see it on the big screen on February 14th. Our new ritual is apparently going to the cinema around Valentines day, last year it was to see Deadpool (best date ever) and this year, boycotting Fifty Shades Darker, I leapt at this huge chance to view one of my favourites at the cinema.

There are many factors that make this film hit my top ten list. I can’t help but fall in love with the soundtrack and character progression over and over again each time I view it. I can’t help but love the costume of Baby (Jennifer Grey) throughout Dirty Dancing. It is textbook how through the film she progresses from shy baggy clothed girl to strong, brave woman that is reiterated through her dance. A film of family, love, naivety, status and growing up possesses the screen. Good old Johnny Castle played by Patrick Swayze is the one Baby falls for, leading to her awakening… both sexually and worldly. Looking at it now-a- days I am a little concerned about the age gap, but I’d rather not think too much about it at risk of ruining it for myself.

The social context of this film is brilliant, adding that extra layer. Based in the sixties, the underground dance scene highlights the changing times. The camp owner, Max Kellerman, even reiterates this at the end of the film, stating that dance have moved on from the foxtrot, which is true. This film highlights the beginnings of a new dance and music movement. It’s surprising at how different it is to see a film on the big screen opposed to DVD form at home. The dance sequences are even more sexual as they dissect the body, capturing body parts. The pre-sex scene between Johnny and Baby highlights how less is definitely more. The camera captures body parts and the music and dim lighting cast a very erotic atmosphere.

Dirty Dancing hits all the right buttons. The music is incredible, the story one with complexities, and some rather brilliant choreography that you can’t help but enjoy. Definitely worth the watch on the big screen to affect your feels.

